Encountered one more error!

I recently encountered one more error and was able to resolve soon with the help of one of my colleague.

For those who reading this blog, I have no intention to keep posting errors I encountered, but after all this is a blog which is only intended to have issues encountered in my work life 🙂

However I still feel, my posts may help someone who encounters the same error. Hence with this dual things in my mind I continue to post these errors.

Ok now, I was trying to execute a mobile web application, with IIS6 and .net framework 1.1, and I got the following error.

image2

As you can see from the screenshot, application was trying to write to Event Log. From the exception you can grasp that it is a permission issue while reading a registry key.

Following are the steps to resolve this Event Log Permission error:

1. Open registry editor.

2. Drill-down to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Eventlog.

3. Right-click on Eventlog and click permissions.

4. Add Local machine\users to the list and give full control permissions and click OK.

5. Then drill-down to next level in Eventlog\Security.

6. Right-click on Security and click permissions.

7. Add Local machine\users to the list and give full control permissions and click OK.

That’s it! This error is gone!

PS: Having said that if these steps does not resolve the issue, you can also try changing the authentication from network to System Account in IIS.

One Response to “Encountered one more error!”

  1. Rajeshwari Says:

    good info!

Leave a comment